The Vinton-Shellsburg Vikings football team will spend the next two years as the most southern team in a district that again stretches north to as far as Decorah.
The Iowa High School Athletic Association re-assigns new districts every two years, and has recently announced the districts for the 2014-15 and 2015-16 seasons.
The Vikings will be in District 3 in Class 3A, along with Charles City, Crestwood-Cresco, Decorah, Independence, Waverly-Shell Rock and West Delaware-Manchester.
Benton Community is now in District 6 in Class 3A, along with Ballard, Bondurant-Farrar, Gilbert, Grinnell, Nevada and Newton.

In Class 2A, Union and Center Point-Urbana are now in different districts.

District 3 — Center Point-Urbana joins Dyersville Beckman, New Hampton, North Fayette Valley, Oelwein, Waterloo Columbus and Waukon in District 3.

Union of La Porte City-Dysart is now in District 6, with Aplington-Parkersburg, East Marshall, Iowa Falls-Alden, Roland-Story, South Hardin and South Tama.

With only seven teams in the district, the Vikings will play three non-district and three district games, as they have the past two seasons.

Driving time again an issue

Coaches have said the district pairings have created travel issues, and it seems to be the case for the Vikings again.

Below are the approximate driving distances between Vinton and the other schools it will play over the next two years. One season, the Vikings will host that team in Vinton; the next they will travel to that school.

Charles City: 87 miles

Decorah: 95 miles

Cresco: 110 miles

West Delaware (Manchester): 50 miles

Waverly: 58 miles

Independence: 28 miles

Submit a Comment

Please refresh the page to leave Comment.

Still seeing this message? Presh Ctrl + F5 to do a "Hard Refresh".

Comments (0)

To receive each day's headlines to your inbox sign up for our email updates.