Photos (1) View All
Albert Grunenwald, Iowa 4-H Foundation and 2014 Benton County 4-H Hall of Inductee, Greg Svoboda.

Eighty-two county volunteers, including Greg Svoboda of rural Vinton, and two state level Iowa 4-H volunteers were inducted into the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame during the 2014 ceremony at the 4-H Exhibits Building at the Iowa State Fair on Sunday, Aug. 17.
About Greg's involvement in 4-H

Greg Svoboda has been an amazing asset to Benton County 4-H and to the youth in Benton County. It’s a little known fact that he spent summers at his grandparents working with livestock, but he was never involved in 4-H in his youth.

It wasn’t until his children started their 4-H careers that he became involved. Greg is a former 4-H club leader who was going to “just help out” because his children were involved, but ending up being a club leader for over 10 years.

Greg is also a 4-H committee member and swine superintendent who can be seen in every weigh-in or tagging as well as in the show ring each year at fair, wearing bibs, holding a clipboard and keeping track of classes, placings and ribbons.

He has a great passion for working with the youth in Benton County. It’s volunteers like Greg that are the backbone of the Iowa 4-H Program and make the positive differences in the lives of our youth.

Click HERE to see the entire list of Benton County 4-H Hall of Fame honorees.

About the 4-H Hall of Fame inductees

Inductees or their surviving family members were presented a certificate by the Iowa 4-H Foundation as they were introduced on stage. In alphabetical order, Adair to Jackson Counties were recognized at 1:30, while Jefferson to Wright County were recognized at 3:30. A reception, sponsored by donors to the Iowa 4-H Foundation, was held shortly after each of the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame presentations.
County honorees were selected by their respected counties for their outstanding service and dedication to 4-H, while the Iowa State University Extension and Outreach Iowa 4-H Programs office nominated two honorees this year for their service to Iowa 4-H and beyond. Inductees are selected for their exceptional work in contributing to the lives of 4-H members and the overall 4-H program. Many inductees served as club leaders, youth mentors, fair superintendents, fair board members, Iowa State University Extension county council members, county youth council members, fair judges, financial supporters, chaperones, Iowa 4-H Foundation Trustees, or ISU Extension and Outreach staff members. The inductees have demonstrated dedication, encouragement, commitment and guidance to Iowa’s 4-H’ers through the years.
“This is a wonderful opportunity for county and state 4-H volunteers and 4-H staff to recognized and celebrated for their outstanding service and dedication to Iowa’s 4-H program,” said Albert Grunenwald,
More information about this year’s inductees to the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame also is available on the Iowa 4-H Foundation website, organized by year and by county. Go to
The Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame was established in 2002 to help commemorate the 100th anniversary of 4-H. A summary of previous honorees are also available on the Iowa 4-H Foundation’s website.
This year’s honorees by county:
Adair County - Deb Stalter
Chickasaw County – Ron Zelle
Adams County – James (Jim) Stalcup
Clarke County – Joyce Branson
Allamakee County – Betty Toendle
Clay County – Roger & Kay Zieman
Appanoose County – Jerald & Judi Lawson
Clayton County – Sandy Ruckhaber
Audubon County – Ed Ahrendsen
Clinton County – Marvel Smith
Benton County – Greg Svoboda
Crawford County – Dick & Rona Bromert
Black Hawk County – Louis & Pat Beck
Dallas County – Chuck & Lorinda Inman
Boone County – Jim Magee
Delaware County – Martin & Joann Kruse
Bremer County – Kevin & Peney Rasing
Des Moines County – Andy & Lyn Brader
Buchanan County – Rustie & Lori Kane
Dubuque County – Betty Pins
Buena Vista County – Marty Olsen
Emmet County – David & Carol Solberg
Bulter County – Doug Schueler
Fayette County – Don Bahe
Calhoun County – Jamie Buenting
Floyd County – Joe & Sue Paulus
Carroll County – Julie Clancy
Franklin County – Dr. Richard Flickinger
Cass County – Eleanor Hoover
Fremont County – Phillip Wing
Cedar County – Teri Baird
Greene County - Doug Hawn
Cherokee County – Jim & Peggy Corrington
Grundy County – Bill Noteboom
Guthrie County – Jim & Jo Laughery
Montgomery County – Wanda Johnson
Hamilton County – Pan Henderson
Muscatine County – Irene Lary
Hancock County – LaVern & Della Veau
Page County – Harold & Shirley Anderson
Hardin County –Jackie Tibbsr
Palo Alto – Roberta Hersom
Harrison County – Paul Lane
Plymouth County – Carol Schneider
Henry County – Deborah Sinclair
Pocahontas County – Nancy Jenson
Howard County – Lowell & Merge Dohlman
Polk County – James & Judy Nelson
Humboldt County – Marilyn Hundertmark
Pottawattamie (East) County – Boyd M. Nilan
Ida County – Dale & Sandy Ullrich
Poweskiek County – Larry Sears
Iowa County – Theresa Heitman
Ringgold County – Cindy Schlapia & Cheryl Whittington
Jackson County – Larry & Mary Lou Johnson
Scott County – Jeanette Korthaus
Jefferson County – Eileen Pickard
Shelby County – Linda Heflin
Johnson County – Richard & Joyce Oberman
Sioux County – Cheryl Palsma
Jones County – John Harms
Story County – Doris Olson
Keokuk County – Terry & Marsha Steinhart
Union County – Paul & Verna Bailey
Linn County – Marilyn Butler
Van Buren County – Norma Whitacker
Louisa County – Mike Hendrickson
Wapello County – Sue Wasson
Mahaska County – Eileen Blom
Warren County – Jason & Kim DeLay
Marshall County – Tom Hemesath
Washington County - Robert Emde
Mills County – Robert Moore
Wayne County – Jan Winslow
Mitchell County – Marlene Weis
Webster County – John & Sandee Bonner
Monona County – Dave Hausman
Winneshiek County – Norbert Lovstuen
Monroe County - Dean & Nathalie Lathrop
Woodbury County – Maggie Locke
Worth County – Paul Nerley
Wright County – Dale Haugland

Submit a Comment

Please refresh the page to leave Comment.

Still seeing this message? Presh Ctrl + F5 to do a "Hard Refresh".

Comments (0)

To receive each day's headlines to your inbox sign up for our email updates.