Search This Site
Events and Activities :: Benton County Gun Training Classes
· 10:48am September 7th, 2011
A law which went into effect on January 1, 2011 requires the Sheriff of each county to issue a permit to carry weapons to any person 21 years of age or older who is not addicted to alcohol, not likely to use a weapon unlawfully or in such a manner as would endanger the person’s self or others, is not a felon, and has not been convicted of a serious or aggravated misdemeanor in the past three years. (Iowa Code 724.8)
The law also states that a person must complete a handgun safety training course to acquire an initial permit. Renewal of a current permit requires that the permit holder attend a handgun safety training course within the twelve-month period prior to the expiration of the current permit or qualify on a firing range under the supervision of a certified instructor within the twelve-month period prior to the expiration of the current permit.
Approved handgun safety training courses will be held in the Benton County area:
Tuesday, October 18, 6PM to 10PM – Cedar Rapids
Cost of the class is $50 and pre-registration is required to assure adequate course materials. A photo ID is required of each participant before the certificate will be issued.
To register for the class or for questions, email IowaFirearmsTraining@gmail.com or call (319) 310-4724.
Anyone interested in qualifying on the firing range for renewal of a current permit is asked to use the same email address or phone to schedule a time to qualify. Cost of the qualification $15 per hour or portion thereof.
For more information, go to www.IowaCarry.org.
Womens Club Annual Dinner
GENEALOGY WORKSHOP AT CP MUSEUM SUN. SEPT. 11